offers two databases that include full-text articles as well as abstracts of articles in magazines, journals and newspapers.
Basic research magazines, newspapers and eBooks
Advanced research academic journals, magazines, newspapers and eBooks
ProQuest (which includes ProQuest Research Library & ProQuest Complete College) provides current and historic content that is contained in ebooks, databases, newspapers, and primary sources. Its resources support vocational and technical studies such as business, nursing, and criminology.
Here is a ProQuest tutorial if you need additional information.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context is an online resource covering today's trendy social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and English classes. Informed, differing views help students develop their critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Opposing Viewpoints In Context includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, info-graphics, and more. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/contemporary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines through access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, book chapters and more.
* Full text for more than 760 journals
* Full-text coverage dating back to 1937
* Indexing for more than 5,000 journals
* More than 5.7 million records
* Searchable cited references for more than 1,400 journals
Global Road Warrior, which sub-titles itself as 'the ultimate guide to the world' or 'the ultimate business travel guide" provides a broad range of practical information, available in twenty broad subject categories, for over 175 countries. Includes numerous maps and images.
Modern Language Association (MLA; 8th ed.) style is mainly used in the liberal arts and humanities,
American Psychological Association (APA; 5th ed.) style is mainly used in the social sciences.
Free Citation Makers:
Citations are used for a variety of reasons:
Grammarly's free writing app makes your documents clear, mistake-free and effective.
For further information please contact Shar Murphy (530) 251-8830 or email@example.com
24/7 NetTutor is a free online tutoring service that provides you the student the support you need, whenever you need it, for any subject, and on any device.
1. Log onto Canvas;
2. Choose the Academic Resource Center link; and,
3. Select NetTutor!
Tutoring - Staffed by Student Tutors in the Learning Center
Please contact the Learning Center first for tutor availability
English/Writing Lab - Staffed by Faculty in the Learning Center
|8:00--9:00 AM||J Ng||J Ng|
|9:00--10:00 AM||J Ng||J Ng||Please|
|10:00--11:00 AM||J Ng||J Ng||Use|
|11:00--12:00 PM||J Ng||J Ng||the ARC|
@ Lassen Community College
FREE ONLINE TUTORING FOR LASSEN COLLEGE STUDENTS
3 Modes of Online Tutoring Are Available to Our Students:
All LCC students can access live online tutoring through NetTutor’s trained tutors. Online tutoring services can be accessed anywhere.
Access NetTutor via Canvas
English & Writing - 24 hours a day, seven days a week
Mathematics (algebra, trigonometry, calculus, statistics, and more) - 24 hours a day, seven days a week
ESL - 24 hours a day, seven days a week
FYE & College Student Success - 24 hours a day, seven days a week
Humanities - 24 hours a day, seven days a week
See schedule for times: https://www.nettutor.com/scheduleprint
|Anatomy & Physiology||Communications||Geology||Nursing|
|Anthropology||Computer Science & IT||Government/Political Science||Philosophy|
|Chemistry||Engineering||Matemáticas en Español||Sociology|
|Child Development||Finance & Accounting||Music||Spanish|
An LCC Student Guide to NetTutor
What is NetTutor?
How do I get started?
What happens in a tutoring session?
What if I don't have time to chat with an online tutor?
The Q&A Center allows you to ask a question off line, which a tutor will usually answer within 24 hours. When an answer has been prepared, you will receive an email notifying you that your question is ready. After you review the answer, you can ask a follow-up question.
Will it work on my computer?
NetTutor works with Windows and Macintosh, and on almost any browser. After you log in, a browser test will confirm that your computer is compatible with NetTutor. If anything is missing, the test will tell you where to find it. You may try the browser test directly by visiting: http://html5test.com/
What if I need technical help?
If you have any questions or technical difficulties, click the Customer Service Request link and fill out the form. You may also call the NetTutor Customer Support Team at 1 (813) 674-0660 x204.
Preparing for Tutoring Sessions
Are you prepared to become an active and independent learner? If you come prepared for online tutoring, the assistance will be more beneficial and helpful.
Having trouble connecting to NetTutor? Below are the minimum requirements for accessing NetTutor.
These Math Links are definitely worth exploring. Check it out for yourself...Help is just a click away!
KHAN ACADEMY. You can learn anything. For free. For everyone. Forever.
Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower you the learn to study at your own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computer programming, history, art history, economics, and more.
LCC students report that they have used Khan Academy for Calculus and Statistics and found Khan Academy to be very helpful. Plus, it's easy to use. You create an account and then click on the subject to start a tutorial.
Need a Test Proctored?
LCC offers testing services in a secure, quiet environment for students who cannot take a scheduled class exam. This has proven to be a valuable service as it is sometimes difficult to coordinate a time when a student and instructor can meet for a monitored exam outside of class.
In addition, a student taking an online or traditional course at institutions other than LCC may also arrange for testing times.
Please note that the Learning Center cannot accommodate entire classes. This also means that instructors cannot use the testing services as a substitute for regular in-class exams.
To schedule an exam time, the student must contact the Academic Resource Center at least 24-hours in advance.
NOTE: Drop-in services cannot be accommodated. This means that an instructor cannot drop off an exam and have students drop in during testing hours to take an exam without making an appointment at least 24-hours in advance. Instructors must provide to the proctor the name of the student(s), the academic program or discipline, and the specific instructions for the exam.
Reserve a group study room for Level I, Library or Level II, Learning Center
Call (530) 251-8830 to reserve a study room.