Modern Language Association (MLA; 8th ed.) style is mainly used in the liberal arts & humanities. MLA Works Cited: A Quick Guide
This site shows you how to cite sources using MLA eighth edition, including how to format the Works Cited page and in-text citation.
American Psychological Association (APA; 5th ed.) style is mainly used in the social sciences. APA Quick Answers
Citation Makers:
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, & share research.
Free bibliography & citation maker for MLA, APA, Chicago, & Harvard styles.
Smart technology to create citations, provide grammar suggestions, & detect unintentional plagiarism.
Fast & free citation generator for APA 6th & 7th ed., MLA 8th ed., & Chicago 17th ed.
Citations are used for a variety of reasons:
Grammarly free writing app makes your documents clear, mistake-free and effective.
This videocast discusses formatting a paper using Microsoft Word according to APA style. To learn more about APA style, please visit the following resource on the Purdue OWL: https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/560/01/
Courtesy of The Writing Lab & the OWL at Purdue and Purdue University
Credo Reference-Find the Right Information
Credo Reference is a unique reference database with tools to enhance and enrich your research experience. With millions of articles from full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference books, Credo Reference covers all major academic subject areas.
EBSCOHost The Basics (4:07 min) or EBSCOhost-A Powerful Reference System for EBSCO Databases (2:55 min)
Either tutorial explains how to search within EBSCOHost.
This video introduces you to Google Scholar, providing essential information on using it to find scholarly articles and books.
John, Google's Chief of Search and AI, and Akshaya, from Microsoft Bing, explain how search really works. They cover everything from how special programs called "spiders" scan the Internet before you even type in your search terms to what determines which search results show up first. Find out how search algorithms bust spammers, manage location services and even use machine learning to improve search every year.
This vidcast discusses formatting a paper using Microsoft Word according to MLA style. To learn more about MLA style, please visit the following resource on the Purdue OWL: https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/747/01/
Courtesy of The Writing Lab & the OWL at Purdue and Purdue University
NewsBank: Research Local, National, and International News
NewsBank's tutorial provides access to information on people, issues, and events locally and around the country.
This short tutorial explains the basics of Opposing Viewpoints that present the pros and cons of social issues such as immigration, terrorism, abortion, pornography, the right to privacy, capital punishment, and others.
Courtesy of Bainbridge State College
This video describes the major characteristics of primary and secondary sources and how they can be used in research.
ProQuest (2:11 min) or ProQuest-Connecting You to Information (2:21 min)
These two tutorials introduce the basics of ProQuest.
Search Engine versus Research Database
Kathleen Ennis describes the advantages of using a research database over a broad internet search.