Skip to main content

Academic Resource Center

The ARC hosts the College's Library and Learning Center.

Welcome to the Academic Resource Center

LCC Library & Learning Center

Academic Resource Center - Library, lower level; Learning Center, upper level

Other Resources

 

 

 

 

EBSCOhost offers two databases that include full-text articles as well as abstracts of articles in magazines, journals and newspapers.

Basic research  magazines, newspapers and eBooks

Advanced research  academic journals, magazines, newspapers and eBooks

 

 

 

ProQuest provides current and historic content that is contained in ebooks, databases, newspapers, and primary sources.  Its resources support vocational and technical studies such as business, nursing, and criminology. 

Here is a ProQuest tutorial if you need additional information.

 

                                            

 

 

Opposing Viewpoints In Context is an online resource covering today's trendy social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and English classes. Informed, differing views help students develop their critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.  Opposing Viewpoints In Context includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, info-graphics, and more. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/contemporary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines through access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, book chapters and more.  

Content Includes:

*  Full text for more than 760 journals

*  Full-text coverage dating back to 1937

*  Indexing for more than 5,000 journals

​*  More than 5.7 million records

*  Searchable cited references for more than 1,400 journals

Global Road Warrior

Global Road Warrior, which sub-titles itself as 'the ultimate guide to the world' or 'the ultimate business travel guide" provides a broad range of practical information, available in twenty broad subject categories, for over 175 countries. Includes numerous maps and images.

          

 

22,000+ feature length videos on all topics curated for colleges          

more info about FOD

26,000+ films on all topics including recreation you can stream any time.

more about Kanopy

 

  

The portal for statistics:  Immediate access to over one million statistics and facts.

 

                             

Since 1971 IBISWorld has provided thoroughly researched, accurate and current business information. IBISWorld employs dedicated expert analysts who research economic, demographic and government data. IBISWorld provides valuable insight into America's 700+ industries.

 

 

 

 

Get the detailed information you need to tackle vehicle maintenance and repairs.

This link provides one help to using Chilton's Online Vehicle Repair Manual:  Help

 

 

 

 

 

Modern Language Association (MLA; 8th ed.) style is mainly used in the liberal arts and humanities,

MLA Works Cited:  A Quick Guide

and

American Psychological Association (APA; 5th ed.) style is mainly used in the social sciences.

Free Citation Makers:

   

  • 4 Citation Styles
    Whether you are using MLA, APA, Turabian or Chicago, BibMe can help you reference your work effectively.
  • Variety of Sources
    Journals, websites, books and many other sources covering both digital and print format.
  • Plagiarism Checker
    Check your content for plagiarism against a great deal of sources on the Internet to avoid using somebody else’s words.

  • Vast Citation Style Variety
    Citation Machine can help eLearning content developers reference in all 4 major styles, namely APA, MLA, Chicago and Turabian. However, it provides an immense library of 7.000 additional citation styles for many different fields.
  • Resources and Guides
    The platform offers a guide on how to properly cite in APA, MLA and Chicago.
  • Plagiarism Checker
    Much like BibMe, this platform also offers this feature that only comes if you subscribe though.
  • Numerous Sources
    Citation Machine allows you to cite content from books, magazines, newspapers, journals, films and many other sources.

 

 

  • 3 Citation Styles
    APA, MLA and Chicago to cover all your basic reference needs as well as an in-text citation generator.
  • Good Variety of Sources
    Webpages, books, journals, newspapers and online videos along with many other digital and print sources.
  • Style Guides for All 3 Citation Styles
    Comprehensive list of style tips for APA, MLA and Chicago.

  • Personalized Resource Libraries
    By embedding this plugin, you are able to store digital sources of virtually any kind in your library by a single click.
  • Support for Many Sites
    From university libraries to news sites, Zotero provides all the research assistance you need.

 

Citations are used for a variety of reasons:

  • to give credit to the work of others
  • to help readers find more information
  • to share useful resources
  • protection from plagiarism.  

 

Grammarly's free writing app makes your documents clear, mistake-free and effective.

 

 

 

 is an writing tool utilized by the Lassen Community College English department.

Fall 2018 Tutoring

For further information:

Elizabeth Darley at (530) 257-6181 x8990 

24/7 NetTutor is a free online tutoring service that provides you the student the support you need, whenever you need it, for any subject, and on any device.  To access, log onto Canvas; choose the Academic Resource Center link;  and select NetTutor!

Tutoring Labs

Tutoring - Staffed by Student Tutors in the Learning Center

Tutoring

(Learning Center)

Please contact the Learning Center first for tutor availability

(530) 257-6181 x8990 or Suite 216, Humanities Building (upper level)

(Biol 1, 4, 10, 32; Business 1A & 25; Chem 1A & 1B, 45, 55; Geol 1 & 5; Hist 15, 16, 17;

Math 102, 103, 40, 60; Physics; Speech)

English/Writing Lab -  Staffed by Faculty in the Learning Center

TIME MONDAY TUESDAY WEDNESDAY THURSDAY FRIDAY
11:00--11:50 AM Rotlisberger Swanson Rotlisberger Swanson Rotlisberger

Math Lab -  Staffed by Faculty in the Math/Science Building

TIME MONDAY TUESDAY WEDNESDAY THURSDAY FRIDAY
8:00--9:00 AM   Ng Klesper Ng  
9:00--10:00 AM   Ng Klesper Ng Please
10:00--11:00 AM   Ng Klesper Ng Use
11:00--12:00 PM Chapman 11:30 a-3:30 p Ng Klesper Ng the ARC
12:00-1:00 PM Chapman 11:30 a-3:30 p        
1:00-2:00 PM Chapman 11:30 a-3:30 p        
2:00-3:00 PM Chapman 11:30 a-3:30 p

What NetTutor Can Do for You:  Online Tutoring

 

@ Lassen Community College

FREE ONLINE TUTORING FOR LASSEN COLLEGE STUDENTS

 

 

3 Modes of Online Tutoring Are Available to Our Students:

All LCC students can access live online tutoring through NetTutor’s trained tutors.  Online tutoring services can be accessed anywhere.

Access NetTutor via Canvas

  1.  Login to Canvas
  2. Navigate to your course
  3. Click the NetTutor Link in the left-hand navigation

LIVE TUTORING SCHEDULE

English & Writing - 24 hours a day, seven days a week

Mathematics (algebra, trigonometry, calculus, statistics, and more) - 24 hours a day, seven days a week

ESL - 24 hours a day, seven days a week

FYE & College Student Success - 24 hours a day, seven days a week

Humanities - 24 hours a day, seven days a week

See schedule for times https://www.nettutor.com/scheduleprint

Anatomy & Physiology Communications Geology Nursing
Anthropology Computer Science & IT Government/Political Science Philosophy
Biology Criminology History Physics
Business Economics ​Logic Psychology
Chemistry Engineering Matemáticas en Español Sociology
Child Development Finance & Accounting Music Spanish

An LCC Student Guide to NetTutor

What is NetTutor?

  • NetTutor is a comprehensive online tutoring service for all levels of college courses.
  • All the tutors are highly trained, and experts in the course that a student is taking.
  • NetTutor is ready to help.
  • You can usually find “NetTutor” listed in the course navigation within your Canvas course. Click the link to open your NetTutor® Tutoring Home Page.

H​ow do I get started?

  • Select the subject for which you wish to receive tutoring. The dashboard for that subject will open.
  • To connect with a tutor, click on "Ask NetTutor - Live 1-to-1 Help."
  • You will be directed to a page where you can see your position in the queue and view a video with instructions for asking questions in NetTutor.

What happens in a tutoring session?

  • When a tutor is available, you will automatically be brought into a tutorial room. A cowbell will ring. This lets you know that the session has begun.
  • Your tutor will help you work the problem out and give you hints if you get stuck.
  • Please come prepared to learn.

What if I don't have time to chat with an online tutor?

The Q&A Center allows you to ask a question off line, which a tutor will usually answer within 24 hours. When an answer has been prepared, you will receive an email notifying you that your question is ready. After you review the answer, you can ask a follow-up question.

Will it work on my computer?

NetTutor works with Windows and Macintosh, and on almost any browser. After you log in, a browser test will confirm that your computer is compatible with NetTutor. If anything is missing, the test will tell you where to find it. You may try the browser test directly by visiting: http://html5test.com/

What if I need technical help?

If you have any questions or technical difficulties, click the Customer Service Request link and fill out the form. You may also call the NetTutor Customer Support Team at 1 (813) 674-0660 x204.

Preparing for Tutoring Sessions

Are you prepared to become an active and independent learner? If you come prepared for online tutoring, the assistance will be more beneficial and helpful.

  • Log into a tutoring session EARLY in the semester. When you first begin to have trouble in a class, seek assistance immediately. If you seek tutoring assistance the day before an exam, or when you feel that you may be in danger of failing a course it may be too late. It is best to envision online tutoring as supplementary to what you are covering in your course.
  • Assume responsibility. A tutor’s role is to help you learn how to do your course work, not to do it for you. Tutors can provide support and insight, as well as guide you in problem solving. Our central goal is for you to become an independent learner.
  • Read all pertinent material before meeting with a tutor. Try to work all assigned problems prior to the session and bring your work to the tutoring session for the tutor to review. This will allow you to ask specific questions about issues you may have and pinpoint difficulties you may have experienced.
  • Aim to engage in tutoring sessions in an active manner. You will reap more benefits from assistance if you are the one doing the work.
  • Set reasonable goals about what can be accomplished. Always keep in mind that it is not realistic or feasible to ask questions about a semester’s worth of material in one tutoring session.
  • Be patient during particularly busy tutoring times (e.g. mid-terms, final exams, etc.).
  • Do not hesitate to say, "I am still having difficulty understanding this type of problem. Could we go through it one more time?"
  • Review your recorded live tutoring session on a consistent basis. Try to continually expand your understanding of the material as you strengthen your knowledge base.

Technical Support

Having trouble connecting to NetTutor? Below are the minimum requirements for accessing NetTutor.

  • Minimum Browser: An HTML5-compatible browser (Internet Explorer 10+, Chrome 28+, Firefox 28+, Safari 7+).
  • Internet Connection: 56k or greater.
  • Security: Make sure cookies are enabled and pop-ups are allowed for www.worldwidewhiteboard.com
Loading ...

Learning & Tutoring Center

Fall 2018 

For further information please contact Elizabeth Darley (530) 257-6181 x8990 or edarley@lassencollege.edu

24/7 NetTutor is a free online tutoring service that provides you the student the support you need, whenever you need it, for any subject, and on any device.

To access, log onto Canvas; choose the Academic Resource Center link;  and select NetTutor!

Tutoring Labs

Tutoring - Staffed by Student Tutors in the Learning Center

Tutoring

(Learning Center)

Please contact the Learning Center first for tutor availability

(530) 257-6181 x8990 or Suite 216, Humanities Building (upper level)

(Biol 1, 4, 10, 32; Business 1A & 25; Chem 1A & 1B, 45, 55; Geol 1 & 5; Hist 15, 16, 17;

Math 102, 103, 40, 60; Physics; Speech)

English/Writing Lab -  Staffed by Faculty in the Learning Center

TIME MONDAY TUESDAY WEDNESDAY THURSDAY FRIDAY
11:00--11:50 AM Rotlisberger Swanson Rotlisberger Swanson Rotlisberger

Math Lab -  Staffed by Faculty in the Math/Science Building

TIME MONDAY TUESDAY WEDNESDAY THURSDAY FRIDAY
8:00--9:00 AM   Ng Klesper Ng  
9:00--10:00 AM   Ng Klesper Ng Please
10:00--11:00 AM   Ng Klesper Ng Use
11:00--12:00 PM Chapman 11:30 a-3:30 p Ng Klesper Ng the ARC
12:00-1:00 PM Chapman 11:30 a-3:30 p        
1:00-2:00 PM Chapman 11:30 a-3:30 p        
2:00-3:00 PM Chapman 11:30 a-3:30 p

What NetTutor Can Do for You:  Online Tutoring

 

@ Lassen Community College

FREE ONLINE TUTORING FOR LASSEN COLLEGE STUDENTS

 

 

3 Modes of Online Tutoring Are Available to Our Students:

All LCC students can access live online tutoring through NetTutor’s trained tutors.  Online tutoring services can be accessed anywhere.

Access NetTutor via Canvas

  1.  Login to Canvas
  2. Navigate to your course
  3. Click the NetTutor Link in the left-hand navigation

LIVE TUTORING SCHEDULE

English & Writing - 24 hours a day, seven days a week

Mathematics (algebra, trigonometry, calculus, statistics, and more) - 24 hours a day, seven days a week

ESL - 24 hours a day, seven days a week

FYE & College Student Success - 24 hours a day, seven days a week

Humanities - 24 hours a day, seven days a week

See schedule for times:   https://www.nettutor.com/scheduleprint

Anatomy & Physiology Communications Geology Nursing
Anthropology Computer Science & IT Government/Political Science Philosophy
Biology Criminology History Physics
Business Economics ​Logic Psychology
Chemistry Engineering Matemáticas en Español Sociology
Child Development Finance & Accounting Music Spanish

An LCC Student Guide to NetTutor

What is NetTutor?

  • NetTutor is a comprehensive online tutoring service for all levels of college courses.
  • All the tutors are highly trained, and experts in the course that a student is taking.
  • NetTutor is ready to help.
  • You can usually find “NetTutor” listed in the course navigation within your Canvas course. Click the link to open your NetTutor® Tutoring Home Page.

H​ow do I get started?

  • Select the subject for which you wish to receive tutoring. The dashboard for that subject will open.
  • To connect with a tutor, click on "Ask NetTutor - Live 1-to-1 Help."
  • You will be directed to a page where you can see your position in the queue and view a video with instructions for asking questions in NetTutor.

What happens in a tutoring session?

  • When a tutor is available, you will automatically be brought into a tutorial room. A cowbell will ring. This lets you know that the session has begun.
  • Your tutor will help you work the problem out and give you hints if you get stuck.
  • Please come prepared to learn.

What if I don't have time to chat with an online tutor?

The Q&A Center allows you to ask a question off line, which a tutor will usually answer within 24 hours. When an answer has been prepared, you will receive an email notifying you that your question is ready. After you review the answer, you can ask a follow-up question.

Will it work on my computer?

NetTutor works with Windows and Macintosh, and on almost any browser. After you log in, a browser test will confirm that your computer is compatible with NetTutor. If anything is missing, the test will tell you where to find it. You may try the browser test directly by visiting: http://html5test.com/

What if I need technical help?

If you have any questions or technical difficulties, click the Customer Service Request link and fill out the form. You may also call the NetTutor Customer Support Team at 1 (813) 674-0660 x204.

Preparing for Tutoring Sessions

Are you prepared to become an active and independent learner? If you come prepared for online tutoring, the assistance will be more beneficial and helpful.

  • Log into a tutoring session EARLY in the semester. When you first begin to have trouble in a class, seek assistance immediately. If you seek tutoring assistance the day before an exam, or when you feel that you may be in danger of failing a course it may be too late. It is best to envision online tutoring as supplementary to what you are covering in your course.
  • Assume responsibility. A tutor’s role is to help you learn how to do your course work, not to do it for you. Tutors can provide support and insight, as well as guide you in problem solving. Our central goal is for you to become an independent learner.
  • Read all pertinent material before meeting with a tutor. Try to work all assigned problems prior to the session and bring your work to the tutoring session for the tutor to review. This will allow you to ask specific questions about issues you may have and pinpoint difficulties you may have experienced.
  • Aim to engage in tutoring sessions in an active manner. You will reap more benefits from assistance if you are the one doing the work.
  • Set reasonable goals about what can be accomplished. Always keep in mind that it is not realistic or feasible to ask questions about a semester’s worth of material in one tutoring session.
  • Be patient during particularly busy tutoring times (e.g. mid-terms, final exams, etc.).
  • Do not hesitate to say, "I am still having difficulty understanding this type of problem. Could we go through it one more time?"
  • Review your recorded live tutoring session on a consistent basis. Try to continually expand your understanding of the material as you strengthen your knowledge base.

Technical Support

Having trouble connecting to NetTutor? Below are the minimum requirements for accessing NetTutor.

  • Minimum Browser: An HTML5-compatible browser (Internet Explorer 10+, Chrome 28+, Firefox 28+, Safari 7+).
  • Internet Connection: 56k or greater.
  • Security: Make sure cookies are enabled and pop-ups are allowed for www.worldwidewhiteboard.com

 

Thumbnail

These Math Links are definitely worth exploring.  Check it out for yourself...Help is just a click away!

is a writing tool used by the Lassen College English department.

KHAN ACADEMY.  You can learn anything.  For free.  For everyone. Forever.​

Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower you the learn to study at your own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computer programming, history, art history, economics, and more.

LCC students report that they have used Khan Academy for Calculus and Statistics and found Khan Academy to be very helpful. Plus, it's easy to use.  You create an account and then click on the subject to start a tutorial.

Need a Test Proctored? 

LCC offers testing services in a secure, quiet environment for students who cannot take a scheduled class exam. This has proven to be a valuable service as it is sometimes difficult to coordinate a time when a student and instructor can meet for a monitored exam outside of class.

In addition, a student taking an online or traditional course at institutions other than LCC may also arrange for testing times.

Please note that the Learning Center cannot accommodate entire classes. This also means that instructors cannot use the testing services as a substitute for regular in-class exams.

To schedule an exam time, the student must contact the Learning Center at least 24-hours in advance.

NOTE: Drop-in services cannot be accommodated. This means that an instructor cannot drop off  an exam and have students drop in during testing hours to take an exam without making an appointment at least 24-hours in advance.  Instructors must provide to the proctor the name of the student(s), the academic program or discipline, and the specific instructions for the exam.

Reserve a group study room for Level I, Library or Level II, Learning Center

https://lassencollege.libcal.com/reserve/studyrooms

Call (530) 251-6680 to reserve a study room.

Loading ...