African American Experience: Primary Source Sets (Digital Public Library of America)
Primary source collections exploring topics in history, literature, and culture developed by educators — complete with teaching guides for class use.
The African-American Mosaic (Library of Congress)
A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History and Culture
Amistad Research Center (Tulane University)
The Amistad Research Center collects, preserves, and provides open access to original materials referencing the social and cultural importance of America's ethnic and racial history, the African Diaspora, human relations, and civil rights.
Black Abolitionist Archive (University of Detroit Mercy)
"The Black Abolitionist Digital Archive is a collection of over 800 speeches by antebellum blacks and approximately 1,000 editorials from the period. These important documents portray black involvement in the anti-slavery movement; scans of these documents are provided as images and PDF files."
Black History (National Archives)
This is a Library of Congress resource guide for studying black history and culture.
Black Women's Suffrage Archive (DPLA)
"The Black Women’s Suffrage Digital Collection is a collaborative project to provide digital access to materials documenting the roles and experiences of Black Women in the Women’s Suffrage Movement and, more broadly, women’s rights, voting rights, and civic activism between the 1850s and 1960. The materials in this collection include photographs, correspondence, speeches, event programs, publications, oral histories, and other artifacts."
Civil Rights History Project (Library of Congress)
"The Civil Rights History Project began with a nationwide survey of oral history collections and culminated in a broad series of oral history interviews with civil rights movement veterans from coast to coast. It contains over 1,200 items, including born-digital video files, digitized videocassettes, digital photographs, and full-text transcripts for all interviews.
Digital Library on American Slavery (University of North Carolina Greensboro)
"The Digital Library on American Slavery is an expanding resource that compiles various independent online collections focused on race and slavery in the American South. It is searchable through a single, simple interface.
Although DLAS's current focus is on sources associated with North Carolina, considerable data relating to all 15 slave states and Washington, D.C., including detailed personal information about slaves, slaveholders, and free people of color, are contained herein.
Digital Schomburg (New York Public Library)
"Relying on the expertise of distinguished curators and scholars, Digital Schomburg provides access to trusted information, interpretation, and scholarship on the global black experience 24/7. In this virtual Schomburg Center, users worldwide can find exhibitions, books, articles, photographs, prints, audio and video streams, and selected external links for research in the history and cultures of the peoples of Africa and the African Diaspora."
Frederick Douglass Papers (Library of Congress)
"The Frederick Douglass Papers at the Library of Congress presents the papers of the nineteenth-century African American abolitionist who escaped slavery and then risked his freedom by becoming an outspoken antislavery lecturer, writer, and publisher. The online collection, containing approximately 7,400 items (38,000 images), spans 1841-1964, with the bulk of the material dating from 1862 to 1865. Many of Douglass’s earlier writings were destroyed when his house in Rochester, New York, burned in 1872."
Library of Congress African American Websites (Library of Congress)
The guides show what’s available on a subject, highlighting key books, subscription databases, and primary historical sources. They’re an excellent tool for researchers, from the beginner to the expert,
National Museum of African American History & Culture (Smithsonian)
"The National Museum of African American History and Culture is the only national museum devoted to documenting African American life, history, and culture. It was established by an Act of Congress in 2003, following decades of efforts to promote and highlight the contributions of African Americans. The Museum has collected over 36,000 artifacts, and nearly 100,000 individuals have become members. The Museum opened on September 24, 2016, as the 19th and newest museum of the Smithsonian Institution."
Transatlantic Slave Trade Database (Slave Voyages Consortium)
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database comprises nearly 35,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866. Records of the voyages have been found in archives and libraries throughout the Atlantic world. They provide information about vessels, enslaved peoples, slave traders and owners, and trading routes. A variable (Source) cites the records for each voyage in the database. Other variables enable users to search for information about a particular voyage or group of voyages. The website provides full interactive capability to analyze the data and report results in statistical tables, graphs, maps, or on a timeline.
Asian American Data Links (U.S. Census)
Links to social, economic, and other characteristics of the Asian population in the United States.
Asian American Racial Justice Toolkit (Asian American Pacific Islanders for Civic Empowerment)
This toolkit represents the work and thinking of 15 grassroots organizations with Asian American bases living in the most precarious margins of power: low-income tenants, youth, undocumented immigrants, low-wage workers, refugees, women and girls, and queer and trans people. All of the modules are designed to begin with people's lived experiences and to build structural awareness of why those experiences are happening and how they are tied to the oppression of others.
Asian-Nation: Asian American History, Demographics, and Issues “One-stop information resource and sociological exploration of the historical, demographic, political and cultural issues that make up today’s diverse Asian American community.”
Asian Voices (Digital History)
The University of Houston details key events in Asian American history from the 16th to the 20th centuries.
A grassroots organization dedicated to preserving, educating, and sharing the story of World War II-era incarceration of Japanese Americans to deepen understanding of American history and inspire action for equity.
Facing History and Ourselves: Resource Library
Facing History and Ourselves uses history lessons to challenge teachers and their students to confront bigotry and hate.
The Japanese American Evacuation and Resettlement: A Digital Archive (The Bancroft Library)
The Bancroft Library's documentation of the Japanese American experience during World War II includes over 250,000 pages from an extensive collection of manuscripts and photographs. We invite you to explore these personal materials and recount the daily lives of Japanese Americans while in confinement sites during World War II.
Library of Congress Asian American Websites (Library of Congress)
The guides show what’s available on a subject, highlighting key books, subscription databases, and primary historical sources. They’re an excellent tool for researchers, from the beginner to the expert,
Native Hawaiian and Other Pacific Islander Data Links (U.S. Census)
Links to social, economic, and other characteristics of the Hawaiian and Pacific Islander population in the United States.
South Asian American Digital Archive (SAADA)
SAADA creates a more inclusive society by giving South Asian Americans a voice by documenting, preserving, and sharing stories that represent their unique and diverse experiences.
Viet Stories: Vietnamese American Oral History Project
Created in 2011, Viet Stories: Vietnamese American Oral History Project assembles, preserves, and disseminates the diverse life stories of Vietnamese Americans in Southern California for future generations.
Vietnamese American Heritage Project (Vietnam Center & Sam Johnson Vietnam Archive, Texas Tech University)
Created in 2008, the Vietnamese American Heritage Project (VAHP) supports the Vietnam Archive’s mission to document the war from all perspectives by providing documentation of the post-war social and political history of Vietnamese Americans who immigrated to the United States during and after the Vietnam conflict.
Facing History and Ourselves: Resource Library
Facing History and Ourselves uses history lessons to challenge teachers and their students to confront bigotry and hate.
The Japanese American Evacuation and Resettlement: A Digital Archive (The Bancroft Library)
The Bancroft Library's documentation of the Japanese American experience during World War II includes over 250,000 pages from an extensive collection of manuscripts and photographs. We invite you to explore these personal materials and recount the daily lives of Japanese Americans while in confinement sites during World War II.
Native Hawaiian and Other Pacific Islander Data Links (U.S. Census)
Links to social, economic, and other characteristics of the Hawaiian and Pacific Islander population in the United States.
South Asian American Digital Archive (SAADA)
SAADA creates a more inclusive society by giving South Asian Americans a voice by documenting, preserving, and sharing stories that represent their unique and diverse experiences.
Viet Stories: Vietnamese American Oral History Project
Created in 2011, Viet Stories: Vietnamese American Oral History Project assembles, preserves, and disseminates the diverse life stories of Vietnamese Americans in Southern California for future generations.
Vietnamese American Heritage Project (Vietnam Center & Sam Johnson Vietnam Archive, Texas Tech University)
Created in 2008, the Vietnamese American Heritage Project (VAHP) supports the Vietnam Archive’s mission to document the war from all perspectives by providing documentation of the post-war social and political history of Vietnamese Americans who immigrated to the United States during and after the Vietnam conflict.
ADA.gov (Americans with Disabilities Act)
Information and technical assistance on the Americans with Disabilities Act from the U.S. Department of Justice Civil Rights Division
Association of University Centers on Disabilities
A network of interdisciplinary centers advancing policy and practice for and with individuals with developmental and other disabilities, their families, and communities.
ADA.gov (Americans with Disabilities Act)
Information and technical assistance on the Americans with Disabilities Act from the U.S. Department of Justice Civil Rights Division
The American Association on Health and Disability (AAHD)
AAHD offers a comprehensive resource center, the Disability and Health Journal, and a list of publications designed to educate and raise awareness.
Association of University Centers on Disabilities
A network of interdisciplinary centers advancing policy and practice for and with individuals with developmental and other disabilities, their families, and communities.
This website is the federal government's portal to information on disability rights and services, including the ADA in education, employment, housing, transportation, and health. If you're not sure where to start, try the site map.
Disability - United States Census Bureau
Information on this page is organized by topic so that other advocates, facilities, organizations, and the public can learn more about our work and make recommendations on specific issues.
Learning Disabilities Association of America
Learning Disabilities Association of America
This national organization provides support, advocacy, legislative policy initiatives, and educational resources. The website also features an “Ask the Expert” function for those seeking answers about learning disabilities.
National Council on Disability
An independent federal agency advising the President, Congress, and other federal agencies regarding policies, programs, practices, and procedures affecting people with disabilities.
The Obstacles of Disabilities-TED Talks
ADA.gov (Americans with Disabilities Act)
Information and technical assistance on the Americans with Disabilities Act from the U.S. Department of Justice Civil Rights Division
Association of University Centers on Disabilities
A network of interdisciplinary centers advancing policy and practice for and with individuals with developmental and other disabilities, their families, and communities.
Information and technical assistance on the Americans with Disabilities Act from the U.S. Department of Justice Civil Rights Division
The American Association on Health and Disability
AAHD offers a comprehensive resource center, the Disability and Health Journal, and a list of publications designed to educate and raise awareness.
Association of University Centers on DisabilitiesA network of interdisciplinary centers advancing policy and practice for and with individuals with developmental and other disabilities, their families, and communities.
This website is the federal government's portal to information on disability rights and services, including the ADA in education, employment, housing, transportation, and health. If you're not sure where to start, try the site map.
Disability - United States Census Bureau
Information on this page is organized by topic for other advocates, facilities, organizations, and the public to learn more about our work and recommendations on specific issues.
Learning Disabilities Association of America
This national organization provides support, advocacy, legislative policy initiatives, and educational resources. The website also features an “Ask the Expert” function for those seeking answers about learning disabilities.
National Council on Disability
An independent federal agency advising the President, Congress, and other federal agencies regarding policies, programs, practices, and procedures affecting people with disabilities.
The Obstacles of Disabilities-TED Talks (about 56 minutes)
Sean shares his experience with the hope that collectively, we look differently at people who appear different from us.
From the ADA National Network
A federal agency that promotes equality for people with disabilities through accessible design, guidelines, and standards
U.S. Department of Labor Disability Resources
Resources on benefits, civil rights, community life, education, and employment from the U.S. Department of Labor
From the ADA National Network
A federal agency that promotes equality for people with disabilities through accessible design, guidelines, and standards
U.S. Department of Labor Disability Resources
Resources on benefits, civil rights, community life, education, and employment from the U.S. Department of Labor
The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available oral histories and artifacts about the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that lasted from 1942 to 1964. Under the program, millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border to work in more than half of America's states.
(Hosted by Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media, George Mason University, the Smithsonian National Museum of American History, Brown University, and The Institute of Oral History at the University of Texas at El Paso. The National Endowment provides funding for the Humanities.)
California Cultures: Hispanic Americans (Calisphere)
This digital collection, provided by Calisphere, features photos, essays, posters, murals, and more about California Hispanic Americans.
Chicano/a Movement in Washington (Civil Rights and Labor History Consortium)
This site, provided by the Civil Rights and Labor History Consortium, offers a timeline, photos, oral histories, maps, and more about the Chicano movement in Washington.
Farmworker Movement Documentation Project (UC San Diego Library)
Presented by UC San Diego Library, this site provides primary sources concerning the United Farm Worker movement, including photos, oral histories, essays, videos, and more.
Galería De La Raza Archives (Calisphere)
Provided by Calisphere, this collection contains "administrative records, programs, subject files, correspondence, clippings, slides, photographs, serigraphs, posters, silkscreen prints, ephemera and other creative materials documenting activities of the San Francisco Bay Area Chicano Cultural Arts Center."
Hispanic Heritage Month (Library of Congress)
This Web portal is a collaborative project of the Library of Congress and others; it contains exhibits, collections, audio, images, and more.
Latina(o) Cultural Heritage Archives (CSU Northridge University)
A database featuring photographs and documents assembled from twelve collections of the Urban Archives of the University Library Special Collections and Archives. Funded as part of the Hispanics-Serving Institutions Grant of the State of California, these materials capture the history of Latino and Chicana/o people and culture in Southern California. These collections feature the arts, labor, and immigration as essential parts of the historical fabric of this community.
Library of Congress Hispanic American Free Websites
The guides show what's available on a subject, highlighting essential books, subscription databases, and primary historical sources. They're an excellent tool for researchers, from beginners to experts.
Library of Congress: A Latinx Resource Guide: Civil Rights Cases and Events in the United States
An array of resources provided by the Library of Congress includes timelines, artwork, articles, recordings, photographs, and more.
The Library of Congress: National Hispanic American Heritage Month
The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution, and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of Hispanic Americans who have positively influenced and enriched our nation and society.
National Museum of the American Latino (Smithsonian)
The site is part of the Smithsonian network of museums and includes online exhibits, research, collections, and educational programs.
Pew Hispanic Research Center (Pew Research)
Provides information on a range of topics related to Hispanic/Latino Americans.
Tejano Voices Project (University of Texas, Arlington)
The project, provided by the University of Texas at Arlington, focuses on one hundred seventy-six oral history interviews with Tejano and Tejana leaders across Texas.
Tomas Rivera Archive (Calisphere)
Provided by Calisphere, this collection contains "select digitized photographs and documents from the papers of Chicano author, poet, and educator Tomás Rivera."
University of Houston Libraries: Hispanic Research Collection
The Hispanic Research Collection primarily consists of materials related to Arte Público Press and the archival collections amassed through their Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage project. The press is the largest and longest-lasting Latino publishing house in the United States and a winner of numerous awards, including recognitions from the White House and the National Endowment for the Arts. The Hispanic Collections also contain a Mexico Documents Collection with manuscript materials dating from 1570-1898.
American Jewish Historical Society
Foster awareness and appreciation of the American Jewish past and serve as a national scholarly resource.
The leading American organization promotes education in science and technology, scientific innovation, and entrepreneurship in Israel by supporting the Technion-Israel Institute of Technology.
This site features trip ideas, literature, lessons, spotlights American Jewish communities, and an opportunity to share lessons and ideas with other educators.
Library of Congress Jewish American Websites
The guides show what’s available on a subject, highlighting key books, subscription databases, and primary historical sources. They’re an excellent tool for researchers, from the beginner to the expert,
A website with general information about Reform Judaism and the Reform7 movement in North America.
Numerous institutions, from Yale and Yeshiva to Brandeis and Tulane, have their library collection and archives related to Jewish history. In addition, numerous historical societies and foundations throughout the nation are committed to remembering the past and working for the sake of the future.
The official website of the American Jewish Univeristy.
With over 900,000 members, Equality California is the nation’s largest statewide LGBTQ+ civil rights organization. And we’re California’s only LGBTQ+ civil rights organization working at the local, state, and national levels.
GLADD (Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation)
Nothing is more powerful than authentic representation that humanizes the LGBTQ community. Studies prove that film, television, news, and social media can change our values. They shape our culture. They influence our beliefs and our capacity for empathy. And that’s why—for the LGBTQ community—GLAAD's critical culture-changing work is so essential and yields high-impact results.
The GLBT Historical Society (Gays, Lesbians, Bisexuals, and Transgender)
"The GLBT Historical Society collects, preserves, exhibits and makes accessible to the public materials and knowledge to support and promote understanding of LGBTQ history, culture, and arts in all their diversity."
The Human Rights Campaign is America’s largest civil rights organization working to achieve gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender equality. By inspiring and engaging all Americans, HRC strives to end discrimination against GLBT citizens and realize a nation that achieves fundamental fairness and equality for all.
A 2020 article from CQ Researcher (Congressional Quarterly Researcher)
Library of Congress LGBTQIA+ Websites (Library of Congress)
The guides show what’s available on a subject, highlighting key books, subscription databases, and primary historical sources. They’re an excellent tool for researchers, from the beginner to the expert,
The "website for ONE Archives Foundation, the independent community partner that supports ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives at the University of Southern California (USC) Libraries, the largest repository of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer (LGBTQ) materials in the world."
This website finds articles, reviews, and other primary and secondary resources.
Founded in 1998 by the creators of the Academy Award®-winning short film TREVOR, The Trevor Project is the leading national organization providing crisis intervention and suicide prevention services to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer & questioning (LGBTQ) young people under 25.
American Indian Boarding Schools
The site, provided by the Digital Public Library of America, contains primary source information regarding Native American Boarding Schools.
American Indians Index of Resources
Website containing an array of web resources related to Native Americans on a variety of topics.
American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection
The University of Washington provides a digital archive that includes photos, essays, documents, and more.
This digital collection, provided by Calisphere, contains photographs of Californian Native American baskets made in the 19th and 20th centuries.
This is a directory of North American Indigenous Portals. It includes maps and population information. You can search by country, language, and tribe.
Indian Country Today is an independent nonprofit multimedia news enterprise. Our digital platform covers the Indigenous world, including American Indians and Alaska Natives. Indian Country Today is a public media broadcast carried via public television stations, including FNX: First Nations Experience and Arizona PBS World channel.
Indian Land Cessions in the United States, 1784-1894
As part of the Library of Congress American Memory special presentation project, the site comprises 709 entries with links to the related map or maps for each entry. Users can browse by date, tribe, or state.
National Museum of the American Indian
Part of the Smithsonian network of museums, the website provides online collections, archives, research, and more to explore Native American culture.
Native American/American Indian, Indigenous, Aboriginal Resources
A list of resources related to Native Americans, Indigenous, and Aboriginal peoples was provided by UC Santa Barbara.
Native Americans on the Central Coast
Provided by Calisphere, this photograph collection "focuses on those members of the Central Coast community who are of California Indian heritage."
A visualization tool that helps identify hundreds of tribes in an area.
Created by a small non-profit organization dedicated to the survival of Native American languages, mainly through Internet technology, the site is a compendium of online materials about more than 800 indigenous languages of the Western Hemisphere and the people who speak them.
Society for the Study of the Indigenous Languages of the Americas
The Society for the Study of the Indigenous Languages of the Americas (SSILA) was founded in December 1981 as the international scholarly organization representing the linguistic study of the Indigenous languages of the Americas and was incorporated in 1997.
Survey of California and Other Indian Languages · California Language Archive
Survey of California and Other Indian Languages is an archive and research center in the Department of Linguistics, University of California, Berkeley. It supports the documentation, analysis, preservation, and revitalization of the indigenous languages of the Americas.